The History of the Campground
The Effingham County United Methodist Campground is a testament to the faith and perseverance by local Methodists throughout the years in an effort to create a wonderful location to worship with others.
From its humble beginnings in 1790 until 1864, the old campground was located off Sister's Ferry Road, immediately after crossing Turkey Branch (about four miles north of Springfield, GA). Civil War General William Sherman used the site for horse stables and then burned it down on his "March to the Sea. From 1865 to 1866, a brush arbor tabernacle between Turkey Branch UMC and its cemetery held Camp Meeting.
From 1867 to 1906, the Campground was held on 10 acres in what is now downtown Springfield. The coming of the railroad necessitated its relocation. Mr. Brinson, of the Brinson Railroad, negotiated with the Methodists to move the campground to its present location, 18 acres of land where the "new" tabernacle was built between 1905 and 1910.
The present Campground is located within the Springfield city limits along Business Highway 21. The tabernacle is an open-air construction with overhead fans and wooden pews for worship. Family "tents" line the perimeter of the grounds and are occupied during events, particularly Camp Meeting for fellowship and worship.